The Importance Of Workplace Culture

By Kate Milton

SMS_#Bling_Yellow_RGB

Workplace culture is not a new topic. There are so many people talking about it, and discussing the culture at their workplace. This isn’t one of those posts.

We will look at Social Media Servants’ culture in the future, but this is an employee’s point of view as to why it is so important to make sure you have the right culture in your workplace.

Why?

For me, the biggest reason for making sure the culture is right is because you spend five days a week at work. That is a huge part of your life. If you spend all your time at work hating it, that’s a lot of your life spent feeling miserable. For me, a happy work is a big part of a happy life, and if you’re not happy, something has to change.

A Bad Culture

I have many friends who don’t like their jobs or their workplaces and it makes me sad when I talk to them and hear how unhappy they are. The biggest issue for them is that they don’t click with the people they work with, they don’t feel comfortable in their workspace, and often times they feel they can’t trust their co-workers.

They don’t feel like they can achieve at work, or they feel that there’s no point to trying harder. Sunday nights leave them feeling anxious and miserable. I can’t imagine anything worse!

No Other Option

They also think it’s normal, and that they don’t have another option. They don’t believe any other workplace will be different. The sad reality is that most workplaces don’t focus on their culture or their employees’ happiness.

If they did, their workplaces would be more productive and more successful. Their existing employees would speak highly of them, and clients and prospective employees would come to them, not the other way around.

In fact, I find that if my friends hate the company they work for, I will not consider going to that company for business. I don’t want to be involved in a negative environment in any way! But my friends who love their jobs make me want to use their services. It’s as simple as that.

The Main Focus

While I’ve never had a job that I’ve hated, I have worked in places where the culture was not the focus, and I know there have been times when going into work seemed like one of the hardest things to do. So working in a place where I genuinely like the people and the work, and feel happy, means that having a bad day or putting in extra hours now and then isn’t a problem.

I love being here and it shows in the work and our successful client relationships. At the end of the day, happiness is what should be the main focus.

Connect with Kate on Twitter.

Like Social Media Servants on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Find us on Instagram
Share with us on Pinterest
Visit our website

Leave a Reply

