Meet The Team: Steph

Social media Servants team: Steph

Our next star team member is Steph McCormick! Our favourite things about her are her humour, creativity, and strategic thinking. Get to know her below!

What is your professional background?

My background is in law and communications. I have worked in the commercial legal sector, in communications and diplomacy for the Australian government and have worked on several marketing projects in the health and arts sectors.

Social media is a great sector for a person such as myself, who loves innovation and working in a fast-paced environment – it’s always changing and there’s so much room to be creative and try new ideas.

What is your favourite digital platform?

It changes constantly (they’re all so good!) but at the moment it’s definitely Instagram. From a business perspective, it’s a great way for a brand to showcase their personality through beautiful images and it’s an amazingly easy platform to use for competitions and brand engagement.

For myself, it’s been great keeping up with all of my family members and their travels – the pictures my brother took while he was living in the UK made me feel like I was there with him! It’s a great way to choose places for my next travel adventure.

If you could give people one piece of advice regarding social media, what would it be?

Understand that your social media is an investment – in time, money and creativity. We tell businesses that they should spend at least 15 hours a week on maintaining their platforms, and that includes coming up with exciting and engaging content, providing customer service and running campaigns and competitions.

If you want your community to keep coming back to your pages, treat them well. Answer their queries, take their feedback onboard and give them rewards for their loyalty. Imagine that your brand is trying to woo customers like you would a potential partner – don’t show them anything less than your best side!

Who is your favourite person/brand/group to follow online and why?

I love Gary Pepper Girl for bright, colourful and beautiful quality fashion and travel images.

If you’re after a laugh, Old Spice does some great campaigns that always manage to put a smile on my face.

What do you love about working at Social Media Servants?

I consider myself incredibly lucky that I get to work with such a creative, adventurous bunch of people who listen and are genuinely interested in each other’s ideas. They always encourage me to become better at everything, including my freestyle rap career (just kidding, my rapping is truly awful – but my breakdancing kills it).

If you could go back to any historical event, what would it be and why?

It’s not that long ago, but I’d love to go back to the 80s and go to my parents’ wedding – it was all perms, mullets, padded shoulders and powder blue everything, a truly glorious snapshot of everything so wrong, yet so right, about that time period.

Connect with Steph on Twitter.

Like Social Media Servants on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Find us on Instagram
Share with us on Pinterest
Visit our website

Leave a comment